Teen Jansen shines on tough Day 1 for SA ‘A’

Cape Town – Rookie Marco Jansen was a surprise top-scorer with the bat
and then claimed a wicket as South Africa ‘A’ experienced a difficult opening to
their two-match Test series against India ‘A’ in Trivandrum on Monday.

The tourists were dismissed for just 164 after batting first at the Greenfield
International Stadium before the hosts reached stumps on 129 for two – trailing
by just 35 runs after day one.

Jansen, a 19-year-old fast bowler, first struck an unbeaten 45 off 69 balls to
rescue his team from a dire 101 for eight and then the teenager grabbed one for
19 to complete a solid maiden appearance for the national A side.

His performance was one of the only positives from an otherwise tough day for
the South Africans, who came into the game on the back of a 4-1 loss in the
five-match one-day series.

Bolstered by a hosts of Proteas Test squad members, they lost the
toss at the start and were asked to make first use of the pitch.

But they found themselves in trouble from ball four when captain Aiden Markram
was dismissed for a duck.

Pieter Malan followed, also without failing to trouble the scorers, leaving the
away side on nought for two.

Zubayr Hamza (13) at least reached double figures, and, along with Senuran
Muthusamy (12), was the only other top-order play to have twin numbers next to
his name.

Khaya Zondo (6) and Heinrich Klaasen (0) also failed as SA A dropped to 22 for
five, with India Test seamer Shardul Thakur grabbing three for 29 early on.

Wiaan Mulder (21), Dane Piedt (33) and Lungi Ngidi (15) then helped Jansen put
up some sort of a total before being bowled out in 51.5 overs.

Spinners Krishnappa Gowtham (3/64) and Shahbaz Nadeem (2/37) were the other
bowlers to get amongst the wickets, leaving India on top after the first
innings of the game.

The home sides’ reply began well thanks to Shubman Gill (49 not out) and
Ruturaj Gaikwad (30) after they shared an opening stand worth 48.

Jansen then cleaned up the latter, with a 58-run second-wicket partnership
between the former and Ricky Bhui (26) following.

Ngidi (1/18) managed to end that union before stumps, leaving Ankit Bawne (six)
as the other unbeaten batsman at the close.

A four-day squad:

Aiden Markram (Titans, capt), Theunis de
Bruyn (Titans), Zubayr Hamza (Cape Cobras), Lungi
Ngidi (Titans), George Linde (Cape Cobras),
Pieter Malan (Cape Cobras), Eddie Moore (Warriors),
Senuran Muthusamy (Dolphins), Marco Jansen (Knights), Dane
Piedt (Cape Cobras), Wiaan Mulder (Lions),
Heinrich Klaasen (Titans), Lutho Sipamla (Warriors), Khaya Zondo

– Cricket South Africa

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *